top of page
Hi There

I'm Marie.  I live in the beautiful Northern Irish countryside.  I've been a chef for over 30 years and have always had a passion for cooking, however, over the years this has expanded to home baking and cake making.  I believe in using locally sourced ingredients and organic flour from small mills.  They can be more expensive but most definitely worth it.  I hope you enjoy the recipes and a little insight into Irish cooking.

More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
Get All the New Recipes to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags

Happy St.Patricks Day!


Well hello baking buddies!

I have to apologise for the long delay since my latest blog but I have been juggling too many balls of late and off course something has to give! I used to think it will be great when the family all grow up and leave home, then I will have so much more free time to pursue other things. How wrong I was. I have pursued other things but I'm working just as hard as I did years ago! I'm not complaining because it's all good, but as they say, the miles are going on the clock!

Through the next upcoming blogs I will share with you some of the things I have been up to.

But first, it's St.Patricks day again! I can't believe it's been a whole year since I did my last blog on our patron saint. I was wondering what I could show you to make this year and I thought of macarons ( i know, they're French, but bear with me)...not just any macaron but Matcha Green Tea Macarons. Yes you heard, matcha green tea. It's a big thing at the moment. Chefs are using it in savoury and sweet dishes and it's the new drink to be seen with in the celebrity world. I have to say I love green tea and all its health benefits. Matcha literally means 'powdered tea' and has more nutrients than steeped green tea. It is rich in anti-oxidents which protect us against heart disease and cancer as well as better blood sugar regulation, blood pressure reduction and wait for it...anti-ageing! I'm going to have to drink gallons of the stuff.

The taste of matcha is sometimes described as strong and grass like but I actually find it very pleasant and more drinkable than ordinary green tea. As you can see the powder is a vibrant green which is excellent for giving the macarons their colour. I'm actually contradicting myself when I give you the health benefits of matcha because it can also promote weight loss and here I am using it in sweet sugary macarons, as well as using it in desserts, brownies, muffins etc! As me granny would have said," ..a little of everything in moderation is no bad thing..." Wise granny I think.

However, matcha powder comes at a cost. This small tub cost £10 in Holland & Barratts, so it's not cheap, but I guarantee once you taste it is macarons you will be hooked. The teabags are cheaper but can only be drank rather than used in cooking. Look on Pinterest and you will see a host of emerald green dishes using this nutritious powder.

Now, on with the recipe.

Please don't be scared of making macarons. You will have a few wobbles when you first make them (all of which will still be edible) but I guarantee once you get the hang of them you will be churning them out by the bucket loads. They care expensive to buy in the shops. Almonds is a dear commodity and that's where the expense is but making your own will give you more macarons per recipe that what it will cost you to buy in the shops; plus they are much nicer! I remember once when visiting my son in Carcassonne, France, I had the opportunity to go to a farmers market. Happy days I thought; here is my chance to stock up on cheap authentic french macarons to take home to everyone. No such luck. Yes there was hundreds of macarons, all colours and flavours, but they weren't any cheaper! That is why I stock up on almonds when they are on special offer.

Please give them a try.

Matcha Macarons

150g egg whites (room temperature)

100g caster sugar

180g ground almonds or almond flour

270g icing sugar

2 teasp matcha green tea powder

Line 3 flat baking trays with greaseproof paper and set aside. If you wish you can draw circles with a pastry cutter and pencil. Remember to turn the paper pencil side down to stop the macarons being coloured with the pencil led. This recipe will make 60 min89, or 40 medium or 15 giant macarons.

Whisk the egg whites until the form glossy peaks adding the sugar gradually.

Sift the almonds, icing sugar and matcha. Discard any coarse pieces of almonds and replace them with more to make up the 180g weight.

Using a spatula mix the dry ingredients into the egg whites. There is no need to fold the mixture. Then stir the mixture well pressing out any bubbles in the mixture, no more than 5 minutes until the mixture is smooth and forms ribbon shape when dropped from the spatula.

Transfer the mixture to a piping bag with a 1cm plain nozzle, or if you are using disposable piping bags you can cut to a width of 1cm off the end.

Pipe the mixture into evenly sized discs. If you have any peaks you can flatten them with your finger dipped in cold water. Once you have them all piped you need to lift the tray up a few inches and let it slam on to the bench. This will knock out any air bubbles and ensure even macarons. Now this is the important bit.... you have to let the trays of macarons sit for at least 30 minutes or longer until a skin forms. You will know this when you run your finger across the macaron and it is smooth and not sticky. this is what forms the lid of the macaron and lets the bottom rise to give it the distinct bubbly skirt. While they are sitting, turn on your oven and let it heat to 160 degrees fan oven or 150 degrees non fan oven

Put the trays in the oven and cook for about 10 - 15 minutes. After 8 minutes test for readiness by touching the top of the macaron and gently move it from side to side. If there is a bit of a wobble then cook for 3-4 minutes longer. When ready leave them to cool on the baking tray. Carefully peel of the greaseproof paper.They should come away easily.

You can sandwich them together with cream, butter cream, jam, chocolate etc. I used a white chocolate ganache.

Chop 6 ounces of white chocolate into a bowl. Heat in a saucepan 2 ounces of double cream until it almost comes to the boil. Add it to the chocolate. Let it sit for a minute and then stir until smooth. Leave in the fridge to set and use to sandwich the macarons.

And Voila!........french macarons for your cup of tea on St.Patricks Day

If you have any questions when making them, please feel free to ask on here.

bottom of page