top of page
Hi There

I'm Marie.  I live in the beautiful Northern Irish countryside.  I've been a chef for over 30 years and have always had a passion for cooking, however, over the years this has expanded to home baking and cake making.  I believe in using locally sourced ingredients and organic flour from small mills.  They can be more expensive but most definitely worth it.  I hope you enjoy the recipes and a little insight into Irish cooking.

More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
Get All the New Recipes to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags

"Me ma's apple cake"


Hello again foodie friends and fellow bakers!

I thought I would share another food staple in our home when I was growing up, that firm favourite, the apple cake. Yes I know I have called it a cake but that was all it was ever called growing up in Broughshane. It was also called apple tart but very rarely apple pie.

I made my first apple cake at the age of 11 in my granda's house and needless to say I have managed to refine it a bit since then. Poor granda, he ate everything I made him. He always asked if I would make him this or that, never could I make. He had a strong faith in me and an even stronger constitution!

I don't know of anyone who doesn't like apple cake (especially the men in my family) and I wish I had a pound for the number I have made over the years for friends, fund raisers and parties. It is something you will see in every bakery here in Northern Ireland. Whenever there was an occassion at home, my gran and mum would say "we need to get an apple cake or two"

People are always asking me how I make mine, so I am going to share it with you today.

Now this is how I make it and it may not be the classic way but it is easy, no soggy bottoms and delicious!

The pastry recipe will make enough for 2 tarts, and if you don't need it all it will keep for a week in the fridge and also freeze well too. You could just make 2 and freeze one before baking it and then bake later or freeze it already cooked, but don't sprinkle it with sugar and make sure it is completely cold before freezing.

 

Apple Tart

Sugar Pastry:

450g / 1lb plain flour

350g / 12oz butter (room temp)

85g / 3oz castor sugar

1 beaten egg

Filling:

3 cooking apples

4 tbs granulated sugar

Heat the oven to 180 degrees.

Prepare the filling first to allow it time to cool.

Peel the apples and slice into a microwavable bowl. Keep the apples in even sized chunks. Microwave on full power for about 7- 8 mins. Don't be tempted to stir as this will break down the chunks of apples. Alternatively you can put the apples into a saucepan with a couple tablespoons of water, put on the lid and cook on a low heat until they start to soften. Don't worry if some pieces of apple are still slightly harder than others, they will continue to cook in the oven. Leave the apples to cool completely before adding the sugar, stirring gently to keep the mix chunky. I usually add one large tablespoon of sugar per apple and one extra for the pot.

New season brambleys need more sugar than the apples that come out of storage during the winter. (If you leave new season brambleys in a plastic bag in the kitchen for a week before using they will ripen more and need less sugar. ) Adding sugar to warm apples will make them runny and will give the pastry an soggy bottom.

In a large bowl or mixer rub the butter into the flour until it resembles large breadcrumbs.

Add the sugar, stir in and then add the beaten egg. The mixture should come together in a lump and the sides of the bowl should be clean. Remove from the bowl and shape into a disc. Wrap in clingfilm and chill for 30 mins.

Divide the pastry in two (chill or freeze the other half for later). Cut the remaining half in two and roll out one of the pieces on a lightly floured surface. It should be about 4-5 mm thick. Place it over a greased pie plate. Trim the edges. Put the cooled apples on top and roll out the lid with the remaining pastry. Place over the apples and press the edges together.

Trim and crimp the edges together with a fork dipped in flour to stop it sticking. Cut a slot on the top to let steam out while cooking. Place into the oven for about 40 mins until golden brown. Sprinkle with sugar.

 

I love mine still warm from the oven! Even nicer with ice-cream or custard.

Enjoy and let me know how you get on if you try it or if you have any questions.

bottom of page