top of page
Hi There

I'm Marie.  I live in the beautiful Northern Irish countryside.  I've been a chef for over 30 years and have always had a passion for cooking, however, over the years this has expanded to home baking and cake making.  I believe in using locally sourced ingredients and organic flour from small mills.  They can be more expensive but most definitely worth it.  I hope you enjoy the recipes and a little insight into Irish cooking.

More >
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
APPETIZING
ADVENTURES
-
COOKBOOK
Get All the New Recipes to Your Inbox

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags

Fadge to Newcastle

You have heard the phrase 'Taking coals to Newcastle', well last weekend I was taking a batch of homemade potato bread or 'fadge as we call it up here, to Newcastle-upon-Tyne to my son who lives there. Why doesn't he just buy some you say? Well actually Tesco in the NW of England do sell 'Potato cakes' but they are a far cry in taste from our traditional potato bread. Once you have had Ormo or better still, home-made nothing else compares.

So off I go to the airport with my parcel of fadge in my hand luggage. Maybe I look shifty, I don't know, but of course I was asked to open my case at security. Security had a bit of a laugh, they never know what they will find in a bag. I have even taken our free range eggs in my hand luggage to my daughter when she was at university in Liverpool! A mother's love knows no bounds!

Anyways, I am going to show you how to make your own potato bread (fadge), and it is really easy.

Potato Bread

2 lb (1kg) peeled and steamed potatoes

1 oz (30g) melted butter

8 oz (225g) plain flour

1 lv tsp salt

1. Mash the cooked potato or better still put them through a ricer. They must be lump free. Add the butter and flour.

The mixture may seem too dry at this stage, don't worry, it isn't. Empty it on to a lightly dusted surface and bring the mixture together with your hands until it forms a ball of dough. You can dust the dough lightly as you roll it but don't over do the extra flour, otherwise the potato bread will be tough.

2. Now roll the ball of potato dough into a round circle and divide into wedges. Prick each wedge with a fork. This helps the potato bread cook.

3. Warm the griddle or a thick-bottomed frying pan on a low to medium heat. If you smell the potato bread burning as soon as you put them on then the heat it is too high. It takes between 5 to 10 mins for the first side to brown (you have to give the starch in the flour time to cook out).

The potato bread will rise very slightly and the uncooked side will feel warm and dry to the touch. Flip them over and cook the other side until brown also.

The smell of fresh warm fadge in your kitchen will make it irresistable and won't be long before you find yourself putting a knob of butter on it and tucking in. Enjoy!

Tip; You can also use left over mashed potato to make potato bread. Heat the mash until warm and add the flour. Allow 1 oz (30g) flour for every 1 lb (450g) mashed potato.

Then just follow the rest of the steps as before.

Save

Save

Save

bottom of page